Skip to content

Hymns, Helpful reminders that He is “THE ONE”

June 29, 2010

Have you heard of Chris Rice? Our family really enjoys his music and I have been listening to his “Peace like a River – Hymns Project” album a lot recently.

http://www.chrisricelyrics.com/lyrics/peace-like-a-river/index.html

 

I love hymns and this album has many of my favorites which the LORD has used to encourage me to trust in Him. My feelings are all over the place, I honestly don’t “feel” much of this “Peace like a River” stuff really, but God says in His word that:

3 You will keep him in perfect peace,
      Whose mind is stayed on You,
      Because he trusts in You. Isaiah 26:3 

So, I am trying to purpose to “stay my mind on Him.” It is not easy thing to do, to “stay” my whirring mind, but He promises to keep me in perfect peace. If you ask me, that’s a big promise to make, but He is The One capable of making and keeping it. I just need to keep my mind in the right place, on Him.  So, the hymns help to remind me where my hope is-not in a house, but in Him.

He is my Mighty Fortress, Faithful Provider, Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow, the Love that wilt not let me go…….Behold Him there the risen Lamb,My perfect spotless righteousness,The great unchangeable I AM,The King of glory and of grace, One with Himself I cannot die, My soul is purchased by His blood, My life is hid with Christ on high,With Christ my Savior and my God!

One hymn on Chris Rice’s album is little known, but was my Grandma’s favorite. It’s entitled “Oh Love that will not let me go.” It has become a hymn that is dear to my heart. Here is the first part of it:

O Love that wilt not let me go

O Love that wilt not let me go,
I rest my weary soul in thee;
I give thee back the life I owe,
That in thine ocean depths its flow
May richer, fuller be.

Written by George Matheson

The “Peace Like a River” album also includes a couple that I have never heard of before, like “Before the throne of God above.” Have you heard this one before? Here is part of it:

Before the throne of God above
I have a strong and perfect plea.
A great high Priest whose Name is Love
Who ever lives and pleads for me.
My name is graven on His hands,
My name is written on His heart.
I know that while in heaven He stands
No tongue can bid me thence depart.
No tongue can bid me thence depart.

Wow! I really like that one!

Also, I have grown to love the German national anthem, not in and of itself, but because the melody is from a hymn, with words by John Newton. The name of the hymn is “Glorious things of thee are spoken.” http://www.hymntime.com/tch/htm/g/l/glorious.htm

If you don’t know about him, John Newton is worth getting to know. Here is some interesting history about him: http://www.wholesomewords.org/biography/bnewton8.html

And so, I hope that you are encouraged to say with the Hymn writers, “It is well with my soul and Great is Thy Faithfulness.”

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

