Skip to content

Nicer things than bedbugs

July 14, 2010

Favorite Things?

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens;
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens;
Brown paper packages tied up with strings;
These are a few of my favorite things.

Cream-colored ponies and crisp apple strudels;
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles;
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings;
These are a few of my favorite things.

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes;
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes;
Silver-white winters that melt into springs;
These are a few of my favorite things.

When the dog(bug) bites,
When the bee stings,
When I’m feeling sad,
I simply remember my favorite things,
And then I don’t feel so bad.

Do you like the movie “The Sound of Music?” I do. And now that I have tasted real “crisp apple strudels” and “schnitzel with noodles” in Germany I have to agree with Maria. These are a few of my favorite things. If you live near Landstuhl, Germany and have not tried the Apfel Strudel at

 Hotel Goldinger

 Hotel Cafe Konditorei Goldinger: Hotel from the parking areaHotel Cafe Konditorei Goldinger: The restaurant 

in my opinion you are missing out. If you get a chance go there, have a piece with whipped cream and think of me. (You may have to wait for a fresh pot, but their homemade soups are great too. My favorites were cream of spargel, cream of broccoli, and French Onion) 

I miss Germany, but I love the USA! Can you say BIG!?! Yesterday we bought a BIG TRUCK! Did you know that I am a “truck chick?” Well, I am. It’s a GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab. It’s got lots of other fun stuff in it too, but I’ll let Cowboy Chris give you all of the details on his next “guest” post. 

  Lookie here pardner:

 

This is not our truck, but it’s pretty close to the one we bought. I’ll take a photo of my man with his truck soon. Today he is moseying back from the Lone Star State with our mini-van. Sarah flew out to Dallas with him this morning, they left our TLF at 4:45am. They arrived in Dallas and were in a taxi on their way to the Vehicle Processing Center before 8am Mountain time. They picked up the van and went to fill it up -from 1/4 of a tank- with gas. 😉 Then they drove 4 1/2 hours  and tonight they are staying in a hotel in Amarillo. They called at 3pm Mountain Time to say that they had just arrived at the hotel and that was 96 degrees and humid.  (It’s 94 here, but it’s a dry heat. Yeah, Ok. Excuse me while I flip the burgers-on the sidewalk.) Chris and Sarah are going to get a steak or some BBQ for supper and maybe see a movie if there’s anything edifying to see. Hopefully their room is “clean” (if you know what I mean) and they are able to get a good rest.

 location 

They didn’t get much sleep last night. We got back from getting the new truck and dropping off the rental van at 10pm. We went to bed and at about 11pm there were some men smoking cigars across the way. The swamp cooler was sucking their smoke in and filling the bedrooms.

 

 

So Chris went and nicely asked them to move to the other side of the building. They did. I was glad. God surely has used being a commander to develope some useful skills in Chris-he has little fear of confrontation in situations like these. He’s a great guy. Now all he needs is a Ten-Gallon Hat, some Boots and a shiny badge! I wonder if Pastor David and Peggy have any shopping hints for us?!

 The van seems to have made it here safe and sound. The built-in navigation system, which did not work in Germany, is working fine. I can’t wait to use the voice controls for the temperature, stereo volume and other things. It’s like we have 2 new vehicles! How fun!

One Comment leave one →
  1. ksb08 permalink
    July 15, 2010 6:01 am

    Yeah, you have 2 vehicles now…
    I’m not sure I should mention to Daryn that you bought a GMC Sierra….it might make him miss his..
    I recognized the picture of Rudy’s…we enjoyed that restaurant. I wonder if Sarah commented about the giant Cowboy in Amarillo??

    It looks like perhaps you can see the light at the end of the tunnel… Praying for your trip to Maine and then settling in….Love you all, Kelly & fam

Leave a Reply

