Skip to content

Welcome Home

July 15, 2010

Do you like hearing those words? Oh, I do. I love those words. I loved it when an immigration officer in Baltimore found out we were moving back to the US after 3 years and said it. I cried. I loved it when the person at the Kirtland Bx checkout said it. Tears again. When the car salesman said it, when random strangers have said it, when the man at the post office said it. It brings tears to my eyes every time. There is nowhere quite like the USA. For me there are only 2 “welcome homes” that could be better,  a PCS to Maine and one to Heaven.

On Sunday, after inspecting for bedbugs all day, we had to go out to Edgewood to sign the lease for our new house. I had my doubts. Would they even want us in their beautiful home when they knew with what we had been dealing?  We went to the front of the house and our sweet, sweet landlady opened the door. Kitty, Jan (Yan) and their grown daughter Heidi were all there; they greeted us with warm smiles and Kitty said it, “Welcome Home!”

Did Melissa cry? You bet!

We signed the lease and then they took us out for pizza. Loaded with toppings and piled high with roasted New Mexico Green Chiles. Their treat. We talked about God and how good He is. We talked about how He brought us together. We talked about moving- a lot. It was good. Really good. Welcome Home!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ksb08 permalink
    July 15, 2010 7:41 am

    Did I cry when I saw pictures of you at your new home??? You bet!!
    I showed the pictures to the kids. Sara’s first comment was “Where is Abigail?” Then she saw her in one of the pictures and said, “Oh, there she is.” I found it interesting because you cannot see Abby’s face in any of the pictures but she knew which one was her friend.

    • July 15, 2010 2:59 pm

      Thanks Kelly, I miss you. I woke up thinking of your kids this morning. Not sure why exactly, missing you all I suppose.

      I think we might buy a charcoal grill this weekend. 🙂 And bring it back here in the new truck!

  2. Chris Bailey permalink
    July 15, 2010 2:45 pm

    Welcome home my dear friend! The house looks like a wonderful place for your family. Just seeing it makes me miss the high desert. Can’t wati for your family to settle in & make it YOUR home. I am so looking forward to seeing you all. Stephanie & I will arrive late Wed night (july 21) and be in ABQ thru Sunday. Can we get together? What is your schedule like those days? We will be spending time with my parents, but will need a break from that (sitting around the assisted living center). Love to you all!
    Chris

    • July 15, 2010 3:01 pm

      Hey Chris! I can’t wait to see you. We don’t have any plans for next week, so let me know how much we can see you and where and when.

Leave a Reply

