Skip to content

Beef, Veggies, Fruit and a side of Exhortation?

August 27, 2010

How do you like that title? Curious?

Well, lots of new things are going on here. Yesterday we ordered half a beef from a local ranch. It’s grass-fed and totally organic. Hopefully it’s yummy too.

 

Also yesterday, I went to a small local Farmer’s Market. I bought some great veggies. Swiss chard for supper tonight!

Anyway, one of the farming families home schools their four children. The lady is really sweet and puts you at ease. Her Godly gifts are obvious even in the midst of a hot, busy farmer’s market – compassion, mercy, hospitality.  

Anyway, Ive (pronounced Eevee – I think) said something to me yesterday that hit a cord….or a nerve…..when she found out that we are a military family. I had said that I didn’t know for how much longer, five more years until retirement or until God says get out.

She said, “Good, we need good Godly men in the military.”

I said, “I think that’s exhortation for me!”

She said, “Yes, of course, because this isn’t easy for you either is it? It’s really hard isn’t it?”

WOW! Let me tell you, I needed that exhortation. “We need Godly men in the military.” I needed it for more reasons that I can say. 

Ive didn’t know me or what we’ve been through during this move. She spoke as if she did though. I need to be reminded, daily, that this is where God has us right now. He has a good purpose for our family in this adventure. It is good for me, my husband and my children. Good. He has his men where he wants them and the military is one of those places. He’s in control and will mete out his will for our lives.

This military life is hard. I’d rather be in Maine. Do you know one of Maine’s mottos? Not “Dirigo” not “Vacationland” but “Maine-the way that life should be?” The way life should be? There’s a lot of meaning in that for me. Love. Longing. Loneliness. Regret? I need to be content though, content that this life of mine is my “the way life should be.” Jesus is my “the way life should be.” I can have JOY in the midst of these trials. He knows my heartaches. He goes with me everywhere. His strength is made perfect in my weakness. I will praise His name.

A friend sent this to me today:

Psalm 116:1-7
 1 I love the LORD, for he heard my voice;
       he heard my cry for mercy.
 2 Because he turned his ear to me,
       I will call on him as long as I live.
 3 The cords of death entangled me,
       the anguish of the grave came upon me;
       I was overcome by trouble and sorrow.
 4 Then I called on the name of the LORD :
       “O LORD, save me!”
 5 The LORD is gracious and righteous;
       our God is full of compassion.
 6 The LORD protects the simplehearted;
       when I was in great need, he saved me.
 7 Be at rest once more, O my soul,
       for the LORD has been good to you.

Here’s the ODB from yesterday.

http://odb.org/2010/08/24/contentment-2/

 Thought you might like to look at this: (Ive’s family’s farm)
http://www.schwebachfarm.com/
 
ALSO, we are buying the half a beef from this place:(about 5-10 minutes from our house)
 
http://www.moonbeamranch.com/index.html

Oh, and the fruit? Wonderfully sweet Colorado peaches from a roadside stand – and Patience. (James 1:2-4)

Lots of love-Melissa

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

