Skip to content

Military life for a military wife

February 26, 2011
Category:U.S._State_Population_Maps Category:M...

Image via Wikipedia

Do you know that I am so very proud of my husband? I can’t say enough about him. He is kind and gentle, he is strong and manly, he is soft-hearted and truthful, he is passionate and patriotic, he’s compassionate and honorable, he’s trustworthy and hardworking, he’s fun and funny, he’s humble and an encourager, he’s loyal and upright, and he loves me! What an incredible gift that I’ve been given!

Chris is the kind of man who God can, and does, use for His good and for His glory. Our country desperately needs such men.  Men who have been freely forgiven by the One who made their hearts can do incredible things. They’re free to love people and to live boldly for God. Men of faith, men  who have been given a new heart by the Living God, who have been saved by His grace, can extend that grace to others. They can lead courageously as they humbly trust in the LORD. God grants wisdom to humble, faithful men. He’s looking for men after his own heart. Like King David. Like Chris.

I believe that God has given me a great responsibility in this adventure of Chris’ military career.  Will I cling tightly to Chris and not allow him to have the freedom to be all that God is calling him to be? Will I demand my my MY way and not share him? Because Chris is who he is – loyal and kind, caring and diligent – he wants to please me, take care of me, make sure that I am happy. Sometimes I think that if I stomped my foot and said, ‘That’s it! I’ve had enough of this sojourner’s lifestyle. Take me home!’  he’d do whatever he could to make that happen. We’d drive back over the “Green Bridge” in Portsmouth and never leave again. He has said as much.

I don’t want to usurp God’s authority though-even if that was possible. Eve did it. I don’t want to. I want to be like Abraham who by faith offered his most precious thing, the son God had promised, on an altar at the top of Mt. Moriah.

The Lord is asking me, “Will you trust me with your hopes and dreams for the future? Trust me – with living with your sweetheart, your beloved Chris, in Maine? Trust me with all which that means to you? Time with your family and long-time friends? Tea with Grammie T? Crocuses and tulips through the snow? The glorious colors of autumn? Ice skating and doing wood? Visits to the ocean? The first and last swims of summer? Pizza dates at Pat’s? Trust me – with your children being able to spend lots and lots and lots of time with their grandparents? Singing and stories  and swimming with Grammy, baking and knitting and games with Grandma,  four-wheeler and boat-rides and maple syruping with Papa, with fishing and painting and hikes with Grandpa? Time with cousins?  Adventures and swimming and jokes with Uncles? Snuggles and laughs with Aunts??”

“Will you trust me? Will you follow me wherever I lead you? Sojourn out of your homeland, to a strange place, to the mountain to lay down everything you love on the altar? Will you trust me to be Who I have said that I AM? Good? Holy? Kind? Patient? Your Wonderful Counselor, Everlasting Father and Prince of Peace? Am I not Loving  and Righteous? The Perfect Provider and Sufficient for all of your needs?”

Dear Reader, my Travelling Companion, God has brought me to the sacrificial summit. Are you there with me yet? Can you see me among the mist on my Mount Moriah? To offer my “Isaac”  as a burnt offering, wholly consumed upon the altar? Will I believe God? Believe Him when He says that His hand will guide me? What a joyously toilsome adventure it’s been so far! Birth pangs and bedbugs! But will I believe?

Oh Lord, I believe! Help my unbelief!

So, I am purposing in my heart to trust God with all my mind, heart and soul and strength with Chris’ career in the military. I will love my husband even when I’m lonely and hurting. Even when the Air Force takes him away from me and the children. Even when he’s tired and stressed out because of his work, I will. With God’s help, I will support him in every way that I can. I will trust God like Abraham did. Abraham didn’t know what God would do on that Mountain top, but he showed his faith to his travelling companions. He said, “Wait here, we will go and worship God upon this mountain, and we will both come back to you again.”  Wow! Now that’s the kind of faith I need.

I’m laying down my dreams; I suppose that I’ve been doing this for a while now. I hope to do it more graciously in the future. What will God do with my dreams?  Will he provide a sacrifice for Himself or will He provide in some other way? Will there be retirement and returning to our beloved family in Maine in a little more than 4 years?  I don’t know. God knows that has always been a deep longing in our hearts.  Will Chris be promoted to General some day? Is there something else that we have not yet even dreamed of? I don’t know  what God has is store for our future, but He promises that it’s good.

Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, 21 to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen. Eph. 3:20-21.

Ephesians 3

The Mystery Revealed

1 For this reason I, Paul, the prisoner of Christ Jesus for you Gentiles— 2 if indeed you have heard of the dispensation of the grace of God which was given to me for you, 3 how that by revelation He made known to me the mystery (as I have briefly written already, 4 by which, when you read, you may understand my knowledge in the mystery of Christ), 5 which in other ages was not made known to the sons of men, as it has now been revealed by the Spirit to His holy apostles and prophets: 6 that the Gentiles should be fellow heirs, of the same body, and partakers of His promise in Christ through the gospel, 7 of which I became a minister according to the gift of the grace of God given to me by the effective working of His power.

Purpose of the Mystery

8 To me, who am less than the least of all the saints, this grace was given, that I should preach among the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ, 9 and to make all see what is the fellowship[a] of the mystery, which from the beginning of the ages has been hidden in God who created all things through Jesus Christ;[b] 10 to the intent that now the manifold wisdom of God might be made known by the church to the principalities and powers in the heavenly places, 11 according to the eternal purpose which He accomplished in Christ Jesus our Lord, 12 in whom we have boldness and access with confidence through faith in Him. 13 Therefore I ask that you do not lose heart at my tribulations for you, which is your glory.

14 For this reason I bow my knees to the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, 15 from whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named, 16 that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with might through His Spirit in the inner man, 17 that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, being rooted and grounded in love, 18 may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height— 19 to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.
20 Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, 21 to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Alan Lane permalink
    March 4, 2011 7:57 am

    Thank you sounds so trite, but it will have to do. Thank you for loving our son. Thank you for your obedience and your humility before God and man. Thank you for writing this…for giving me inspiration and an example.
    Thank you, God for this gift of writing you’ve given Melissa. Thank you God for this gift of Melissa you’ve given Chris. Thank you for Chris, the man of God he’s become. Thank you for Melissa. Thank you for Sarah, Ian, Hanna, and Abby.
    Thank you, Lord, for your promise to all of us of a blessed someday in a wonderful land of promise when all our hopes and dreams are met in you.
    Love you so much,
    Mom Lane and Dad

Leave a Reply

