Skip to content

Light

October 27, 2011

We got a light snow last night. So we have a wood fire going today and my garden is covered with plastic. I guess that summer is officially over here.

I am going to try to have a winter garden this year. Have you ever heard of Eliot Coleman? He has a 4 season garden in Maine! He mostly uses just a simple hoop house, with one layer of plastic and no heat. I have planted a variety of lettuces, kale, chard, broccoli, radishes, carrots, spinach, cauliflower and Brussels sprouts and hope to have some success harvesting some fresh veggies this winter and in the early Spring. You may have never even thought of trying to have a garden in the winter?  I hadn’t. I was thinking about how amazing and interesting it is that God has made a way to grow things even in the bleakest, darkest winter seasons. Eliot Coleman, well, I don’t know about his relationship with God. I like the title of his book though, “The Winter Harvest Handbook.” I found something that he talks about particularly intriguing. He talks about light and how it is the necessary ingredient for growth. Heat is not necessarily as important as light. Even when the little plants don’t get enough light though, during the darkest part of the year, they don’t die. They don’t grow; they remain dormant until the amount of light increases. Amazing. Light.

God’s Word is likened to light throughout the Bible:

Psalm 119:105

New King James Version

105 Your word is a lamp to my feet
And a light to my path.

Psalm 119:130

New King James Version

130  The entrance of Your words gives light;
It gives understanding to the simple.

Thinking of light, Chris’ grandmother, Grammy Helen Harvey, passed away while we were in Maine this summer. She is in the presence of the Lord now! Grammy Harvey loved the song “There is Sunshine in My Soul Today.” She loved music in general. I wonder what she is singing now?

I pray that you have Sonshine in your soul today.

Melissa

http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/343

There is sunshine in my soul today

  1. There is sunshine in my soul today,
    More glorious  and bright
    Than glows in any earthly sky,
    For Jesus is my  light.
    • O there’s sunshine, blessed sunshine,
      While the peaceful,  happy moments roll;
      When Jesus shows His smiling face
      There is  sunshine in my soul.
  2. There is music in my soul today,
    A carol to my  King;
    And Jesus, listening, can hear
    The song I cannot  sing.
  3. There is springtime in my soul today,
    For when the  Lord is near
    The dove of peace sings in my heart,
    The flowers  of grace appear.
  4. There is gladness in my soul today,
    And hope, and  praise, and love,
    For blessings which He gives me now,
    For  joys laid up above.

Source:  http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/343#ixzz1b3V1WdgB

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom lane permalink
    October 27, 2011 8:59 pm

    I loved this. Thanks for remembering my Mom this way.

Leave a Reply

