Skip to content

Thinking about…..Joy in Change

January 15, 2012
File:Pierre-Auguste Renoir 146.jpg
Change.
I don’t like change that much, well really at all, most of the time. I have to admit, change, in some cases can be good. A changed heart, a changed mind, a changed diaper? Yes, those are good things. I suppose that a lot of other things could be considered “change” too. Like dusting, doing dishes, laundry, cleaning toilets and re-reorganizing the garage (or this blog). I seem to have a lot of change in my life and I struggle with that. I like routine. I love having a rhythmic, organized predictability to my life. I want my life to look and feel like a waltz, but most of the time I feel like I am learning to dance the Highland Fling! My plans are not the LORD’S though and He has promised to do good to me. On this page, I hope to chronicle the change, or the “Before and Afters” that come into my life.They may be little, they may be big. My prayer is that I will encounter them with my heart rejoicing within, with my mind focussed on Him, with my hands raised to the heavens, as I am worshipping Him. I pray that I will celebrate the changes that the Lord brings into my life this year, 2012.

A young Highland dancer demonstrates her form ...
January 15
This has been a tough week around here, but the LORD is the maker of my heart. He’s a God of the details and He’s good. His timing is perfect. I received these devotionals in my inbox today:

May the coming year be one of increased riches of grace—hearing His voice more clearly, knowing His heart more deeply, resting in His love more fully, trusting His care more completely, walking His pathway more peacefully, knowing His presence more intimately, blessed by His goodness more abundantly.

And in all things, may you know the shalom peace of God—encouraging you to move forward, empowering you to boldly take each step, greeting you as you turn a new corner, calming your heartbeat as you walk through dark valleys, softening each footstep as you climb rugged mountains, and increasing your courage as you follow your Shepherd wherever He leads.

You crown the year with a bountiful harvest; even the hard pathways overflow with abundance. The grasslands of the wilderness become a lush pasture, and the hillsides blossom with joy. Psalm 65:11-12 NLT

Jesus Calling Devotional

My face is shining upon you, beaming out Peace that transcends understanding. You are surrounded by a sea of problems, but you are face to Face with Me, your Peace. As long as you focus on Me, you are safe. If you gaze too long at the myriad problems around you, you will sink under the weight of your burdens. When you start to sink, simply call out “Help me, Jesus!” and I will lift you up.

The closer you live to Me, the safer you are. Fix your eyes on Me, the One who never changes.

Philippians 4:7, Matthew 14:30, Hebrews 12:2

Excerpt from the January 15 devotional writing of Jesus Calling, by Sarah Young.

highland fling,  national dance of Scotland. A vigorous dance requiring delicate balance and precision, it was probably originally a victory dance for a solo male dancer, performed after battle. It is performed in 4/4 time and consists of a series of intricate steps performed on one spot. Especially characteristic is a light step in which the dancer hops on one foot while moving the other foot in front of and in back of the calf. The dance is regularly performed in competition at the Highland Games held throughout Scotland.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

