Skip to content

Shelters – Old, New and Never-Changing

February 27, 2012

September2010 040

We’ll it’s been about 2 weeks since I posted anything here…..wow! I’ve been busy. I’m working through getting all of the kids’ dentist appointments taken care of. We need to have medical and dental clearance before we can get official orders. We have to have official orders before we can schedule our packers/movers. We need to have packers before we can leave this shelter for the next one. So! We’ve done 2 dentist appointments, 3 more this week. Ian’s 1 filling needs repair. Sarah had a clear check up, so she’s done. Hannah and Abby have their checkups along with Ian’s repair job on Thursday. Mine is the next week. Dreading that. There will probably be more to come for me.

Houses. This is Chris’ and my 10th in less than 18 years of marriage. We’ve been “homeless” a fair number of times as well. We’re now getting ready for another, hopefully short, time of  homelessness.

I have steadily been going through the house – dejunking again. I’m throwing away, giving away, donating and setting stuff aside for storage.

I just spent multiple hours in H&A’s room and Ian’s room this past weekend……….yikes – lots of stuff.

You’d think that I hadn’t thoroughly dejunked less than 2 years ago…..bits of yarn, fabric, paper, broken whatevers, weird toys and pieces of toys, dirty socks, clean wash cloths and used dryer sheets?!

I’m relieved to have their rooms cleaned and ready (almost) for the packers to be here.

Lots of work remains though.

Next comes the school books/supplies.

Art supplies too.

Chris’ shop.

The garages. (2 of them)

My kitchen.

Outdoor things.

O.K., I know you probably know this about me – I’m a bit of a control freak. I like my house to be what I call “moving ready” at all times. Too bad I wasn’t like this as a teenager-my poor parents! Sorry Mum and Dad. 😦 But anyway, I’m really really really obsessive about not having school books and all the other categories of books mixed together. So I need to separate, organize and categorize books and then tie those together. I can’t start school on time if I have to go looking for 2 or 3 missing books! We’ll probably have a bit longer to set up our new house this move; last time we received our Household Goods (HHG) around mid-August. This time, I hope to have our HHG by mid-July. That should give me plenty of time to unpack without worrying about starting school too late.

There is so much to do on this end to make the other end less messy, frustrating and painful. Plus, this time I have to make plans for not having any closets in 3 of the 4 bedrooms. Phew! This switching shelters gig is…….tiring, stretching, trying, good and sanctifying?

Oh Yes. I almost forgot! If I don’t tie together my nicely folded linens and towels they’ll come out of the boxes in a tangled, wrinkled, I-don’t-care-that-you-obviously-take-care-of-your-things-I’m-going-to-dump-them-in-a-box, tear-inducing mess. (Not to mention I need to hide our packed suitcases and the favorite stuffed animals. Oh, yeah, and the dirty dishes. Have you heard those stories?) At least we don’t have a cat that they can mistakenly box up! Anyhooo…….enough with the venting.

English: Rubber bands in different colors. Stu...

Image via Wikipedia

Homes. I don’t like needless messes because they make it that much more difficult  to get the moving-in finished. My goal is always to make our new house feel homey as soon as possible. That’s kinda hard when you’re surrounded by boxes, chaos and you don’t know where your  towels  and bedding are!

Thinking about changing shelters, doing this all again and again and again can be overwhelming and discouraging. On the other hand, or on the bright side, as my sweet husband would say…… I have been blessed with some wonderful friends from each of these moves. Toni, Kristin, Sheryl, Mary, Deb, Jill, Ghada, Chris, Glory, Kelly, Peggy, Kathleen, Jennifer, Shawn, Leeann, Cheryl, Dawn, Diane, Tawny and more!

Houses, homes, shelters. It does not matter in which dwelling-place that I abide. I am  learning that Jesus is my most faithful friend-wherever I go. Even on the far side of the sea. It does not matter where I live.  Or which house I currently call home. His name is a shelter like no other!

Here I am – abiding in Jesus’ name, a shelter like no other – Melissa.

Your Name -Paul Baloche

Verse 1:
As morning dawns and evening fades

You inspire songs of praise

That rise from earth to touch Your heart and glorify Your Name
Chorus:
Your name is a strong and mighty tower

Your name is a shelter like no other

Your name, let the nations sing it louder

‘Cause nothing has the power to save

But Your name
Verse 2:

Jesus, in your name we pray

Come and fill our hearts today

And give us strength to live for You

and glorify You name

Chorus:
Your name is a strong and mighty tower

Your name is a shelter like no other

Your name, let the nations sing it louder

‘Cause nothing has the power to save But Your name (3x)

Lookup a word or passage in the Bible

BibleGateway.com


Include this form on your page

Save

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Leeann permalink
    March 8, 2012 9:16 am

    Melissa-I always enjoy your perspective on things! This week was so busy here too! Tomorrow should be a down day…do you need help going through the garages? We can come by in the early afternoon for a couple of hours. By the way, how’d your dentist appt go?
    Love,
    Leeann

  2. Sheryl permalink
    April 22, 2012 9:34 pm

    I have lost track — where are you now?

    • April 22, 2012 9:57 pm

      Hi Sheryl! We’re currently in New Mexico (since July 2010- about 22 months now), via Germany (3 years), via South Dakota (22 months), via Turkey (about 2 years), via Massachusetts (3 years :)), via New Jersey, New Mexico and Maine. We’re moving to Belgium in June. The movers will be here to pack up our stuff 14-17 May.

Leave a Reply

