Skip to content

Goings-on in Gruitrode

July 31, 2012
So, here’s a quick update from our corner of the world in Gruitrode (pronounced something like Hhroyt-row-deh) (ow as in snow) Belgium. We will not have a home phone until the end of August. I can’t make international calls on my cell phone, but can Skype now.
We have lots to thank the Lord for. We have been in our house since 1 July, our HHG goods were delivered (mostly undamaged), and we have picked up both of our vehicles now (waiting for the Belgian plates and I need to get my Belgian driver’s license). We are mostly unpacked and have enjoyed starting to get to know our new squadron members. We played Bingo for the first time ever at the squadron last week (I won $10) and last night we hosted a BBQ for about 50 people here at our house. We have had a mix of weather here, lots of rain. I am thankful for that-sorely missed it in NM.
I had a mishap on my bicycle 2 Sundays ago. I flew over the handle bars and landed hard on the pavement. I am slowly recovering. Bruises, sore ribs, knees, elbows, and especially my back and right shoulder. I am hoping that I will eventually recover without having to go to the doctor (you know how much I like doing that). I’m not sure, but I may have torn something in my shoulder and possibly done some damage to some discs in my back?  So the unpacking slowed down quite a bit after that. I could not move much for several days. Took lots of aspirin, St. John’s Wort, ibuprofen and chamomile tea for a week and have been taking it as easy as possible. Thankfully I did not scrape up my face and I had long sleeves on, so I was spared road rash. Most of the unpacking had been done before that too, so I am glad of that.
I may try to start exercising again soon, which I need to do after weeks of not doing so and pretty much eating anything and everything in sight. That is a dangerous thing to do with bakeries, chocolate, ice cream, waffles and fries on every corner. Oh, and I forgot to mention the great Turkish Kebab place in our village. Ugh.
So, as always, here are my very specific prayer requests (right Preacher M.? Winking smile).
Please pray:
For my recovery.
For our ability to go to church. (We can’t go to church in Germany (CC Dusseldorf) until we get our Belgian plates.)
For the general weariness and loneliness of moving to be lifted from us and replaced with the Lord’s peace and joy and strength. I am very tired of doing this all over and over again.
For me to be able to be ready for school (organize what I have, order what I need before we go to Germany for a week at the end of August)
I am thankful for your love and support and take comfort in the fact that the earth is the Lord’s and the fullness thereof. Whether you are in Maine, Massachusetts, New Mexico, Germany, California, South Dakota, Texas or Timbuktu, your corner of the world is His and there is no separation in Him. Your prayers and petitions on our behalf are so very much appreciated.
P.S. I have been enjoying a song by Third Day this week, These Thousand Hills. I remember our Pastor, Emmanuel, asking the congregation a question about it one Sunday morning.
He said something like, “How do you feel about the ‘la, la las?’ I think that we can worship the Lord with our ‘la, la, las’, don’t you?”
I like that. So, here I am, worshipping the Lord with my la, la, las….ten years later and thanking God for his faithfulness through these many moves over these many (10,000?) hills. God Bless you today Emmanuel and Jill-I can still see your big smiles.
These Thousand Hills
These thousand hills roll ever on
Footprints of a Mighty God
They bring me to my knees in praise
Amazing love, amazing grace
Was on a hill my Savior died
A  broken heart and a bleeding side
Hill of the Skull, Mount Calvary
The blood He shed, He shed for me
When Heaven’s hills at  last I roam
Forever settled  in my home (oh yeah!)
I’ll join the  saints around Your throne
Your kingdom, Lord, rolls ever on
These thousand hills roll ever on
Ripples of a coming storm
The  morning star precedes the dawn
These thousand hills roll ever on
3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2012 12:02 pm

    Oh Melissa, I love that song! I look forward to the day we can roam the hills together and catch up on, well, just about everything!

    I am so sorry to hear about your accident. I’ll be praying for a quick and uneventful recovery. How comforting to know that we are held secure in His hands.

  2. Cheryl Walker permalink
    August 6, 2012 10:50 am

    Miss you all! Thanks for the update! Love the leaf picture – perfect!

Leave a Reply

