Skip to content

Yes, I have a good inheritance.

January 8, 2013

Slide2

Overall, life is fine here. Hard at first, especially with my bike accident? Yes. Lonely and isolated? Yes. Gray and rainy? Yes. Good? Yes.

We’ve had a very mild winter thus far, mostly in the 40’s. Some fifties and a few weeks of 30’s. In between the drenching rain showers I have been able to go on some nice walks. There is a good amount of green countryside to behold, even in the wintertime. I do miss the sun in NM (especially for Hannah’s sake), but not the harsh weather, cold wind, no rain, hot & hotter wind, severe dryness, smoke and fires, and the plain old heat. My bike accident here took a toll on my body and I’m just now feeling like I can start to exercise again. A little bit. The treadmill belt gave out though (it is 13 years old), so we are waiting for the replacement to come. Chris’ position here puts us in a lonely spot, but there was isolation in NM too. Chris traveled a lot while we were there. He does not have to travel for this job, at least not often or for more than a day or two, so I’m very glad for that. Overall, I’d say that I’m being renewed.

I do miss the freedom of living in the USA. Europe is SO not free. Yesterday, I had a man turn up at my door unannounced to check my water meter. He did not speak any English and wanted inside. Typical! It’s really frustrating. Things like that and then repeatedly getting notices about registering my kids for Belgian schools and having to give up my U.S. driver’s license get tiresome. Garbage collection is a hassle. Grocery shopping. Getting water to drink. Going to church. This refugee lifestyle is wearing thin. I’m tired of moving, and am especially tired of the trans-Atlantic moves. Daily, I’m groaning.

The nasty little moving hassles keep showing up. Yesterday, we made a disappointing discovery. Our couch was broken in the move! How are we just now discovering this? Well, I had noticed that something was not right with the bottom of the couch as soon as we got it back. I was distracted by unpacking, getting ready for school, and my accident and then was in no condition to be flipping it over by myself. Anyway, it has steadily gotten less and less comfortable. So, last night we flipped it over and took the fabric off the bottom. We found that there has been major structural damage to the frame. It’s nothing irreparable, thankfully. It has come apart in 3 separate places and 1 board is totally separated. Sigh. Unfortunately we are way outside the window to claim the damage. So, Chris and I have to take it apart. Remove lots of staples and the fabric and then try to reassemble the damaged parts. Saturday, I’ll be laboring. 

I’m really tired of moving. That mansion that Jesus has waiting for me is sounding better and better and better. A tree house in heaven would be a billion times better than this place where things and bodies break and wear out and wear down. I know. I know. I know it’s just stuff. That is easier to say than to live with though when your stuff gets broken or destroyed every 2 years. I suppose that we don’t really need anything more than food and clothes and a roof over our heads, but knives and forks, plates and cups, beds, tables, chairs and couches sure are nice to have! We could sit, eat and sleep on the floor, but I’d rather not HAVE to do that because someone else ruins my things. Besides, after falling off the bike I might not be able to get up again! 😉 Wow! Moving sure speeds up the process of entropy on our stuff (and on me too I think)! Heaven, Jesus wiping away my tears, no tears EVER AGAIN. Maranatha! I’m eagerly waiting.

As another new year begins I am thankful for God’s provision, His faithfulness, His promise never to leave me or forsake me, and to continue to conform me into the image of His Son, Jesus. Jesus the Humble baby lying in the manger was the Messiah and is the Risen Lord and Coming King. I’m so glad that despite of skin problems, lack of freedoms and an abundance of broken things, God is good all the time, His promises are true and that the earth is His. I’m persuaded.

31 What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? 32 He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things? 33 Who shall bring a charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies. 34 Who is he who condemns? It is Christ who died, and furthermore is also risen, who is even at the right hand of God, who also makes intercession for us. 35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? 36 As it is written:

“For Your sake we are killed all day long; We are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.”[c]

37 Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. 38 For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, 39 nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Yes, I have a good inheritance. God is good. I’m being conformed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. pat lane permalink
    January 9, 2013 7:40 pm

    beautifully done, Melissa. Beautiful picture, both the photo you took (wow!) and the picture of the Pilgrim’s Progress our lives are…..Maranatha! The joys grow greater in spite of the trials.

Leave a Reply

