Skip to content

You Surround Me

February 17, 2013

Slide3

Slide2

Slide1

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well, Dear Friends, we are still waiting and trusting the Lord for some big things here. It has been a very uncomfortable situation for me for the past couple of weeks. Breaking the law!? Now what? Lawyers?! Wow! (Read WOWWWWAH!)(Thinking of a good friend, Eric D., here.)

I have been finding great comfort in God’s word. God has used modern technology as His tool to reassure me. Bible Gateway, Memverse.com and streaming sermons from Calvary Albuquerque have been a great encouragement. A couple of weeks ago Pastor Skip Heitzig said in his sermon, “The Spirit of God, speaking through the Word of God, to the people of God, is our biggest asset.” That is the truth. As is often said, “I do not know what the future holds, but I know WHO holds the future.” Recently, I’ve had multiple nights of waking up at 2 or 3 a.m.. Two nights ago, two phrases kept going through my head. “Will establish and will do it.” I looked the phrases up on Bible Gateway and found these three verses.  More reassurance – my Heavenly Father has got this!

We have been watching Skip Heitzig’s “I Dare You” series of sermons on the book of Daniel. Pastor Skip is a GREAT teacher. We have been thoroughly enjoying these sermons and, as always, God’s timing is perfect. Daniel was a prisoner in a foreign land where he had to “Step out” and live by faith. About faith, Skip said, “Faith is putting all of your eggs in God’s basket and then counting your chickens before they’re hatched.” I think that’s a good illustration of faith. Daniel “Spoke Out” as well. He spoke out with boldness, clarity, authority, humility and accuracy. To a lesser degree, we are in a situation much like Daniel’s.  

Thinking of Daniel’s impossible situation, I am  reminded of Joshua 1:9 “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” IT’S. A. COMMAND. Not a suggestion. Not an option. Oh Lord, help my unbelief.

There is nothing like a trial to increase the fervency of my prayer life.  It’s said that your prayer life will be proportional to your perception of prayer, God, and the problem about which you are praying. If I believe that God listens to my supplications, that God is in total control, that He is interested in guiding me and that He is in tune with all of the details why would I not fervently pray and bring my unsolvable problem to Him? God is good, He “Surrounds Me” with His goodness and has good plans for my future – including producing perseverance, character and hope in my life.

I like the lyrics to the song “You Surround Me” by Bebo Norman. Although it is a song about the love between a man and a woman (girl), I think that it also speaks well of my relationship with the Lord. Substitute “Lord” for “girl” and the song is nearly perfectly true.

Please enjoy the song and the slideshow!

I hope that you know God’s perfect love for you today. He surrounds you and wants to be the King of your heart.

You Surround Me

There’s never a day away from you
I’m not a complete mess
If I ever stay away from you
It’s only emptiness
‘Cause love lasts longer
And love stands stronger
Than anything that’s in between us
There’s never a day away from you
‘Cause girl, you surround me
You’re all around me
When you capture me with everything you do
‘Cause girl, you surround me
There’s never a day away from you
When I’m able to breathe
Whatever this world is coming to
I want you next to me
Love lasts longer
Love stands stronger
Than anything that’s in between us
There’s never a day away from you
‘Cause girl, you surround me
You’re all around me
And when you capture me with everything you do
And girl, you surround me
You’re all around me
When you capture me with everything you do
‘Cause girl, you surround me
And I know the sun will rise and fall
But we will make it through it all
I will love you until life is over
‘Cause girl, you surround me
You’re all around me
When you capture me with everything you do
Girl, you surround me
You’re all around me
When you capture me with everything you do
‘Cause girl, you surround me
Girl, you surround me
You’re all around me
Capture me with everything you do

BEBO NORMAN – YOU SURROUND ME LYRICS

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 20, 2013 9:20 am

    Thank you for this reminder to pray with fervor. I am thankful God gave you this assurance that ‘Yes, I’ve got this!”

Leave a Reply

