Skip to content

Crooked Places

February 24, 2013

There is a bush in our yard that I find intriguing, and sometimes, disturbing.

Slide2editedWhen I looked at it today it seemed to say, “I am a perfect picture of your life.”Slide1editedMessy. Crooked. Twisted. Snarled. Perplexing. Unsettled. Confusing.  Jumbled.  Abandoned?Slide2editedHave you ever felt like that? Today as I looked at this mess, this bush, my life, I felt, for a moment, abandoned.

And then God spoke. Softly. Quietly. Like the whisper of the snow falling around me. Gently. But, oh, so tangibly.

He said, “Daughter, look closely.”

Slide3edited“Life,” He said. And again, “Look more closely.”

Slide4edited“Growth. Beauty.”

“Look here.”

Slide5editedDo you see it? It’s an “e.” An “e” for EVERYWHERE.

“I am with you,” He said to me. “I AM everywhere.” “I have not forsaken you.”Slide6edited

“I will make the crooked places straight.”

Slide7edited

“This is my world. I am working. Yes, you are hard-pressed on every side, yet I will not let you be crushed; you are perplexed, but I will not let you despair; you are persecuted, but I have not forsaken you. Yes, there is death for Jesus’ sake, but there is LIFE here. There is growth here. I AM your FATHER and this is my world.”

Slide8editedIsaiah 42:16

16 I will bring the blind by a way they did not know;
I will lead them in paths they have not known.
I will make darkness light before them,
And crooked places straight.
These things I will do for them,
And not forsake them.

126 When the Lord brought back the captivity of Zion,
We were like those who dream.
2 Then our mouth was filled with laughter,
And our tongue with singing.
Then they said among the nations,
“The Lord has done great things for them.”
3 The Lord has done great things for us,
And we are glad.

4 Bring back our captivity, O Lord,
As the streams in the South.

5 Those who sow in tears
Shall reap in joy.
6 He who continually goes forth weeping,
Bearing seed for sowing,
Shall doubtless come again with rejoicing,
Bringing his sheaves with him.

I pray that the GOD of the EVERYWHERE, who sees you today will make Himself known to you right now. Listen. He wants to speak with you. He wants you to know the HE loves YOU. Open a Bible, find one online. Start reading the New Testament. Today. Get His Word into you heart, because Jesus is LORD, He’s good, He’s in control and He’s coming back soon. You need Him.

Thanks for stopping by.

Grace and Peace to you,

Melissa

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Patricia M Thibodeau permalink
    February 24, 2013 12:13 pm

    Even when blanketed by winter, the promise of spring is there.

  2. pat lane permalink
    February 24, 2013 5:06 pm

    Melissa…WOW. That was one of the most beautifully written and pictured things I have ever read. I loved it.

  3. February 24, 2013 6:35 pm

    lovely Melissa — artistic, poetic, and spirit filled.

  4. February 25, 2013 4:20 am

    Beautiful.

  5. Kelly G. permalink
    August 23, 2015 2:03 am

    Hi, I got here via PTI MIM, but I have seen your blog(s) before and enjoy your creativity. This morning when I was going to get lost in card blogs, this post (and few others of yours) pulled me back to focusing on the Lord. Thanks for sharing!

    • August 23, 2015 7:27 am

      Wow, Kelly. Praise that Lord. I really needed this encouragement and to be reminded of God’s faithfulness and how specifically and intimately He knows us and loves us. I had forgotten about this post. Thank you for commenting.

Leave a Reply

