Skip to content

Hope & Safety

March 21, 2013

Today, I have been contemplating safety and hope, hope and safety.

Where or in whom do I place my hope? In my nationality – I’m an AMERICAN?! In the Constitution? In elected officials? The Supreme Court? In the Status of Forces Agreement (SOFA)? In the Air Force? In my husband?

Where do I find safety, security and confidence? In a healthy physical body? In a conflict-free existence? In an physical location?  In the U.S. A.? In Somewhereclosetohomeville, Maine?

If I were to be honest, I would have to admit that this is a struggle for me. I often place my hope and confidence in things which I shouldn’t.

What should I hope in? Where should I feel safe? Or, more accurately, in Whom?

I began searching the Scripture for answers to these questions. Please see the slide show below for the results of my search thus far.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Do you feel up to this call to trust the Lord with your everything? I don’t. I feel weak.

Another question also comes to mind as I think about this weakness of mine. Can I be content if I continue to place my hope in anything but my Savior? Are contentment and a securely grounded hope inextricably linked? I think so. Can someone, you or I,  just be content? I don’t think that one can. I think that it takes practice. The Apostle Paul said that he had learned to be content in all circumstances. He had a lot of practice placing His trust in Jesus. He said that he could do all things through Christ who strengthened him. I believe that, since Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever, this is a promise that I can place my hope in. Redemption, salvation, strength, hope, security and contentment through Christ. Christ alone, Who does not change.

Shall we, together, ask the one-who-does-not-change to change us into His faithful followers, who out of weakness are made strong? Let’s set the Lord always before us. Let’s ask Him to help us, to transform our minds into ones that continue to rest in hope.

Psalm 16:7-9

7 I will bless the Lord who has given me counsel;
My heart also instructs me in the night seasons.
8 I have set the Lord always before me;
Because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved.

9 Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices;
My flesh also will rest in hope.

So, Dear One, what about you? Will you endeavor to place your trust in the only Trustworthy One? Have you asked Him to be your Redeemer? Will you place your trust in Him alone? Can we do anything less and hope to have hope? Can we find our security in things which change and then trust the “feeling” of stability that they give us? I don’t believe that we can.

Any thoughts? Please share? Do you have some favorite Scriptures that encourage you to find your hope in Him?

p.s. If you have trouble hearing the music try using Google Chrome or Safari as your web browser! 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 25, 2013 2:24 am

    http://odb.org/2013/03/23/hope-is-for/ Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful.

Leave a Reply

