Skip to content

December 2014 Blog Hop – the whole collection! (Updated!)

December 26, 2014

December 2014 087edited

a variety of different hellos….. 🙂

1 love

1 Happy wee New Year

&

1 wedding

🙂

I took some new photos this morning because I had better light.

December 2014 013edited

The wedding, love, and New Year cards are all very different, but to the unfamiliar eye it’s probably hard to tell that the “Hello” cards have quite a few differences. 🙂 These babies took me hours! Admittedly, I am very new to heat embossing, so I’m not very good at it yet. It takes me a long time and could be much better.  But for the sake of clarity I am going to explain the differences in the five cards.

December 2014 010edited

December 2014 005edited

“Hello” #1

This first card has a card base of Brushed Silver, a layer of Silver Glimmer, and a top layer of white.  I double heat embossed the phone booth’s windows in gold, as well as the back of the door that I cut open.  The top of the “Hello” is embossed in gold with multiple layers of red card stock underneath to give it dimension.  I used PTI’s “Happy Hearts” cover plate and stamp set to make the hearts.  I embossed some in silver, some in gold, cut others out in Silver Glimmer and Brushed Silver, and stamped others in gold ink.

December 2014 004edited

“Hello” #2

This second card has a base of Brushed Silver, a layer of red card stock, and a top layer of white.  I stamped my favorite stamp from PTI’s “Silent Night” stamp set in both silver and gold to make a swirly background.   I embossed the phone booth’s windows once in silver and I left this door shut.  The “Hello” is die cut out of Silver Glimmer and has multiple layers of white underneath. There are also more of the embossed, stamped, and die cut hearts on this card.  On this one I embossed not only the solid hearts, but also one of the ones with the stripes.

December 2014 006edited

“Hello” #3

The third card has a base of Brushed Silver, a layer of Silver Glimmer, and a top layer of white.  I cut open the door of this phone booth, and put a piece of Silver Glimmer on the back of the door.  The windows of the phone booth are double embossed with silver, and I outlined the different parts of the phone booth with a gold pen. The “Hello” is cut out of Brushed Silver and stacked on top of several layers of red card stock.  You can see that there are more of the stamped, embossed, and die cut hearts.

December 2014 008edited

“Hello” #4

My fourth card is taller than the other three, and opens at the top instead of the side.  The base is Silver Glimmer, and because it is flimsy I reinforced it with white on the inside.  It has a layer of Brushed Silver and a top layer of white.  I used a silver marker on the windows of this phone booth and embossed the back of the door in gold.  I also outlined the door with a gold pen.  The “Hello” is cut out of Silver Glimmer and stacked on top of red.  This one doesn’t have any striped embossed hearts, but it does have the solid ones and more stamped and die cut ones.

December 2014 007edited

“Hello” #5

And last but not least, my fifth card.  This one, like the fourth one, is taller than the first three, and opens at the top.  The “Hello” is cut out of Silver Glimmer and layered on top of red card stock. The windows of the phone booth are colored with a silver marker, and this one’s door frame is embossed in gold.  I also made a gold embossed snow drift for the telephone booth to sit on.  And, once again, there are more of the sparkly, shiny, stripey hearts!

Well, we’re having snow here today! The first of the year.  I’ll go and see what my family is up to. Shoveling & playing in it I think. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by!

XO Melissa

December 2014 002edited

December 2014 003edited

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2014 4:56 am

    These are beautiful!

Trackbacks

  1. December 2014 Blog Hop, Wedding | Lanes in the Promised Land

Leave a Reply

