Skip to content

Wonderful things

January 6, 2015

Do I like storms?

I do.

I like rainy weather too. Really! We call them “Dunoon days” around here. 🙂

Thunder and lightening? Yes, please.

Snowstorms? Bring ’em on.

December 2014 052edited

Not storms in my heart though.

I do know that both types have their purpose.

Because of the rain we had this past weekend, the 10-12″ of snow we got after Christmas is mostly gone. Last night we had a hard frost and this morning the grass was sparkling in the sunshine. So, I stepped outside with my camera to take a few photos of God’s beautiful artwork.

IMG_8502edited

Then I saw it.

The the aftermath of New Year’s Eve’s fun.
January 2015 011edited

The mess.

Here……

IMG_8474edited

here….

IMG_8512edited

And here too.

IMG_8520edited

Oh, yes. The dead plants. The ones in the background of the above photo – in the big shallow pot?

In November they looked like this.

IMG_7229edited

Now? Not so much.

IMG_8524edited

A bent hula hoop, a bungee cord, a piece of a rabbit fence, fire cracker remnants and more dead plants in some dirty snow?! Ugh.

IMG_8521edited

Oh, and what about this jumble of stuff hanging outside? Smelly mildew. The results of last summer’s sewage backup into a room in our basement.

IMG_8519edited

Reminding me of the, now vacant, neighboring room in the basement left behind by our pet bunny who died at the beginning of December.

Wow. What a depressing mess.

Ever had one of those days? Grumpy days? Yucky days? Cloudy, uncomfortable, stormy in your heart kind of days? Where you feel like you are surrounded by messes? And you’re part of it? Everywhere. you. look. messes. appear.

Today is one those days for me. Not sure why. Maybe because I had the intestinal flu over the weekend? Maybe because I didn’t sleep well last night? Maybe because I’m worried about a child’s chronic skin condition? Maybe Christmas is over, my best friend is back at work again after two weeks of being at home a lot, and maybe some people in my house are lazy and have bad attitudes?  Including me, maybe?

Maybe.

Where do you go when you see messes everywhere and you have a storm in your heart?

Today, I looked more closely at the beauty of the frost. Ignoring the mess, I knelt in the crispy grass. I peered through the lens and saw beautiful, wonderful things.

IMG_8495edited

These things did not help change my heart attitude at first though.

IMG_8504edited

However, as I thought about the God who made these things and about His Truth, the storm began to fade. As I cast all my care upon Him I began to experience His care for me.  As I recalled Romans 8:32, that He did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for me, I thought, “How shall He not with Him also freely give me all things?”

As I look at my messes and storms with a humble, prayerful heart, He begins to show me wonderful things.

Slide1

God uses storms and messes. He uses them to bring me to the end of myself. To my knees. So that He can give me what I need. More of Himself.

Jesus wants to bear your burdens, to lift your down-hung head, to clear the clouds from your heart. Won’t you take your messes and storms to Him?

Thanks for stopping by!

XO

Melissa

Save

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Leeann permalink
    January 14, 2015 3:48 pm

    Melissa, you have a gift of writing AND photography. I must also add to that the gift of encouragement. I absolutely love the way you weave EVERYTHING into Christ. Thank you for sharing your heart and gifts. They blessed me today. You know the storms we are going through and it brought perspective back into my day. Love and miss you guys lots!

    • January 14, 2015 5:45 pm

      Praise the LORD, Leeann! He’s good. This post was so effortless. It flowed out of my troubled heart that was being ministered to. I’m so glad that you were encouraged by it. ❤

  2. March 18, 2015 4:57 pm

    What a beautiful post! I think we have to train our minds and hearts to see the blessings that God has for us in the storms.

Trackbacks

  1. honeybeelane | Lanes in the Promised Land
  2. A Cheerful Heart for CAS(E) this Sketch | honeybeelane

Leave a Reply

